The Music department once again contributed to the annual ‘Envirovision’ Competition, which is organised by RCT Council, aiming to develop students’ awareness of the impact litter has on our environment.

Our theme this year was ‘Zero Waste’, which is an ambitious plan by the government to have no waste going into landfill sites by 2020. This would involve us reusing or recycling all of our rubbish, rather than just throwing it out – a message that is very relevant to us at the College, as the amount of rubbish we generate on a daily basis is huge.

Once given the theme for our song, students constructed lyrics which would convey the message. An example of this is in the chorus of our song:

“Zero waste by 2020, no bins to collect, the landfill’s empty

Recycling centre’s the brand new craze, no biological waste giving off a haze

Zero waste by 2020, a life for bottles once they’re empty”

Once the lyrics were submitted to RCT, the students then worked with a team of visiting professionals to create the song and record it. A special mention must go to Year 10 student, Jack Parry, who wrote much of the music to the song and contributed a truly outstanding guitar solo in the live concert.

The live final was on the 10th July at the Muni Arts Centre, Pontypridd, where our students competed against 6 other schools, performing their song in front of a sell out audience. This was a fantastic finale to all of their hard work and the performance was amazing! All the singers and musicians performed to an extremely high standard and again, as in previous years, showed the wider community that Tonypandy Community College consistently produces performances which are top class!

My thanks go to all of the students, who contributed to a truly memorable evening. These are:

Singers: Rochelle Embling, Suzi Murphy, Eve Tudball, Ebony Denton, Hope Martin, Ffion Durstan, Georgia Chislett and Sophie Allen

Band: Jack Parry (Guitar), Ryan Jones (Bass), Jaz Williams (Piano), Jack Barrowcliffe (Keys) and Gav Jenkins (Drums).

All amazing!!!

M Childs (Music@TCC)